home  program   about us contact history  links
|   BüroFriedrich           
 
 

Funky Lessons

John Baldessari, Monica Bonvicini, Andrea Fraser, Martin Gostner, Eva Grubinger, Erik van Lieshout, Marko Lulic, Aleksandra Mir, Adrian Piper, Tino Sehgal, Annika Ström, Barbara Visser, Franz West.

Kuratiert von Jörg Heiser.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptkulturfonds, sowie der Mondriaan Foundation und der Sektion Kunst des Österreichischen Bundeskanzleramts.

Ein gängiger Vorwurf besonders gegen konzeptuelle Kunst lautet, sie sei zu didaktisch. Die Ausstellung versammelt Arbeiten, die das Problem der Didaktik direkt angehen: Sie brechen Autorität und biegen erhobene Zeigefinger, verzichten aber dennoch nicht auf Wissen und Kritik. Humor ist die Waffe der Entwaffnung in Performance, Video, Installation, Text-Arbeiten und Skulptur. Es eröffnen sich Wege aus einer Sackgasse der Kunst: jenseits der falschen Wahl zwischen harmloser Hermetik und belehrender Bevormundung.

Titelgebend für die Ausstellung ist das Video „Funk Lessons“ (1983) von Adrian Piper: die Künstlerin gibt darin - meist weißen - Studenten Tanzunterricht in Disco-Funk, mit teils Slapstick-artigem Ergebnis. Ein anderes klassisches Beispiel wäre John Baldessaris „Baldessari Sings LeWitt“ von 1972: Baldessari singt wie ein Laienprediger die berühmten, trocken ernsten Sätze zur Konzeptuellen Kunst von Sol LeWitt zur Melodie bekannter Songs, u.a. der US-Hymne. Oder Franz Wests Kreuzung aus Sockel und Rednerpult “Laokoon’s federnder Kopf (Lessingstudie)” von 2002, in deren Ablage ein Reklam-Heftchen mit Lessings Schrift „Laokoon oder über die Grenzen von Malerei und Poesie“ liegt. Darin spielt Lessing das Skulpturale, dass statisch sei, gegen die Poesie, die beweglich sei, aus. West widerlegt dies mit der unförmigen, rötlich verklumpten Plastik, die mit einer Stahlfeder freischwingend auf dem Pult befestigt ist.

Arbeiten von 13 KünstlerInnen aus 6 Ländern werden die gesamte Ausstellungsfläche des Büro Friedrich vom 14. September bis 13. November 2004 bespielen - eine Institution, die sich in vergangenen Ausstellungen mehrfach mit Geschichte und Gegenwart der Konzeptkunst beschäftigt hat. Um einen Kern von klassischen Arbeiten (Piper, Baldessari) gruppieren sich jüngere (Fraser, Grubinger, van Lieshout, West) und exklusiv für die Ausstellung realisierte Arbeiten (Bonvicini, Gostner, Lulic, Mir, Sehgal, Ström, Visser).

Eine Reihe von Vorträgen und Künstlergesprächen im Münzclub (Münzstr. 23, Berlin Mitte), jeweils Montags ab 13. September, wird die Frage der Didaktik im direkten Austausch mit dem Publikum angehen: einige davon werden die Form des 'Interviews' oder des klassischen Vortrags haben (z.B. Adrian Piper am 8. November, Aleksandra Mir am 13. September), während andere Performance-Charakter annehmen (z.B. Barbara Visser am Eröffnungsabend, 11. September). Ein Katalog, in den diese Veranstaltungsreihe einfließt, wird nach der Ausstellung im Revolver Verlag erscheinen.

 

Funky Lessons at Münzsalon
Münzstraße 23, 10178 Berlin
Einlass €4, Mitglieder frei

Jeden Montag um 20 Uhr Jörg Heiser im Gespräch mit:

13. September Aleksandra Mir (englisch)
20. September Martin Gostner und Marko Lulic (deutsch)
27. September Kerstin Grether and Klaus Walter “The Funky Lessons of Pop Music” (deutsch)
04. Oktober Thomas Bayrle “The Funky Lessons of Teaching” (deutsch)
11. Oktober Tino Sehgal (deutsch)
18. Oktober 'Kein Gespräch' - Funky Lessons Überraschungsfilm
25. Oktober Monica Bonvicini (deutsch)
01. November Eva Grubinger und Annika Ström (englisch)
08. November Adrian Piper (englisch)

Das Videoarchiv und der Live Stream von 'Funky Lessons at Münzsalon' stehen hier zur Verfügung:
supperchannel.org

Das


 


 

____

 


14 September - 13 November

Press Photo Library / Credits


Adrian Piper
'Funk Lessons', 1983


Erik van Lieshout
'LARIAM', 2001
Video, cardboard, silver foil, tape,
150 x 750 x 240 cm
(collection Groninger Museum, Groningen)


Andrea Fraser
'Little Frank and His Carp', 2001
Video/DVD
(courtesy Friedrich Petzel Gallery,
New York)

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 
 

BüroFriedrich, holzmarktstrasse 15-18, s-bahnboegen 53-54, 10179 berlin, germany
phone: +49 (0)30 - 201 65115, fax: +49 (0)30 - 201 65114
email: office@buerofriedrich.de

home  program   about us contact history  image-press
|   BüroFriedrich           
 
 

Funky Lessons

John Baldessari, Monica Bonvicini, Andrea Fraser, Martin Gostner, Eva Grubinger, Erik van Lieshout, Marko Lulic, Aleksandra Mir, Adrian Piper, Tino Sehgal, Annika Ström, Barbara Visser, Franz West.

Curated by Jörg Heiser.

The exhibition is funded by the Berlin Capital Culture Fund, the Mondriaan Foundation,
and the art section of Austria’s Bundeskanzleramt.

A common resentment against conceptual art is that it was too didactic. The exhibition brings together work by artists that tackle the problem head-on: they undermine the authority of educational forms yet do not simply renounce knowledge and critique. Humour and role play are the disarming weapons used in performance, video, installation, painting and sculpture. New ways open up beyond the cul-de-sac of a false choice between harmless hermeticism and patronizing gestures.

The title of the exhibition is inspired by Adrian Piper's pivotal piece “Funk Lessons” (1982-1984), a video based on a performance by the artist teaching - a mostly white - audience of students basic and advanced dance routines of funk and soul music. Another classic example is John Baldessari's “Baldessari Sings LeWitt” of 1972: the artist sings, like a lay preacher, the famous, stern Sentences on Conceptual Art by Sol LeWitt, to the melody of famous songs, among them the US anthem. Or Franz West's cross between a pedestal and a lectern “Laocoon’s sprimgy head (Lessingmstudy)” of 2002, with a paperback copy of Lessing's 'Laokoon, or on the divisions between painting and poetry' casually placed inside of it. In the book, Lessing plays off sculpture, which according to him was static, against poetry, which was in motion. West counters the assumption with an amorphous, reddish lump mounted with a rusty steel spring onto the top of the lectern.

Works by 13 artists from 6 countries will be on display throughout the whole space of BüroFriedrich from September through November 2004. BüroFriedrich is a non-profit international venue for contemporary art that has already put on several exhibitions dealing with the history and present of conceptualism. Complementing a group of classical pieces (Piper, Baldessari), there are some recent works (Fraser, Grubinger, van Lieshout, West) and some commissioned exclusively for the exhibition (Bonvicini, Gostner, Lulic, Mir, Sehgal, Ström, Visser).

A series of lectures at Münzclub (Münzstr. 23, Berlin Mitte), taking place on Mondays from 13 September, will address the question of didactics in direct exchange with the audience: some of them will take the form of 'interview' (Adrian Piper on 8 November, Aleksandra Mir on 13 September), while others will cross over into performance (Barbara Visser, on the opening night, 11 September). A catalogue which will encompass some of the material from these lectures will be published after the exhibition.

Funky Lessons at Münzsalon
Münzstraße 23, 10178 Berlin
admission €4, Members free

Every Monday 8p.m. Jörg Heiser talks to:

13 September Aleksandra Mir (English)
20 September Martin Gostner and Marko Lulic (German)
27 September Kerstin Grether and Klaus Walter “The Funky Lessons of Pop Music” (German)
04 October Thomas Bayrle “The Funky Lessons of Teaching” (German)
11 October Tino Sehgal (German)
18 October 'No Talk' - Funky Lessons Surprise Film
25 October Monica Bonvicini (German)
01 November Eva Grubinger and Annika Ström (English)
08 November Adrian Piper (English)

The video archive and live stream of 'Funky Lessons at Münzsalon' are available at:
supperchannel.org

 

 

 

 

____

 



14 September - 13 November

Press Photo Library / Credits



Adrian Piper
'Funk Lessons', 1983


Erik van Lieshout
'LARIAM', 2001
Video, cardboard, silver foil, tape,
150 x 750 x 240 cm
(collection Groninger Museum, Groningen)


Andrea Fraser
'Little Frank and His Carp', 2001
Video/DVD
(courtesy Friedrich Petzel Gallery,
New York)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
     
 
 

BüroFriedrich, holzmarktstrasse 15-18, s-bahnboegen 53-54, 10179 berlin, germany
phone: +49 (0)30 - 201 65115, fax: +49 (0)30 - 201 65114
email: office@buerofriedrich.de